Saturday, January 26, 2008

Printz Winner Announced

Congratulations to The White Darkness by Geraldine McCaughrean for winning the 2008 Michael L. Printz award.

In this exciting novel, South Pole obsessed Sym travels to Antarctica with her uncle for a guided tour of the area. Little does she know that her uncle has some other plans in mind, such as attempting to discover an entry to another world. McCaughrean paints a clear picture of the barren landscape of Antarctica that's bound to make you shiver from the cold while including fascinating information about previous journeys to the far south.

The Printz Honor books are Dreamquake by Elizabeth Knox, Repossessed by A. M. Jenkins, One Whole and Perfect Day by Judith Clarke, and Your Own, Sylvia by Stephanie Hemphill.

Check out The White Darkness today. While you're at it, check out the past winners and nominees here.

No comments: